top of page
KB. Blue.jpg
KB. Blue.jpg

The Kenneth Branagh International Award For New Drama Writing 2024


KBDA Finalists 2024.jpg

We are very pleased to announce the Top Twenty Scripts for 2024

We apologise for the delay in announcing the Top Twenty Scripts but we received many more scripts than expected and consequently the process has taken longer. Below is the list of the Top Twenty Scripts for 2024.

Die Trying

Seven Times


Copernicus, Darwin and Freud



Pennies, Spectacles and Nevertheless

Strangers on a Train


The Minstrel Boy


A Necessary End

Star Light in a Jar

The Tale of Setsumi and Her Beloved Nobu


The Exit

The Gate

Anne Sexton Had a Band

The Meltdown

Naked Truths



The Top Nine Scripts will be announced within the next two weeks ... 

previuos winners.jpg

I am delighted to sponsor this writing award and to be a small part in an initiative that supports new writers. Without a good play or script, the best actors and directors in the world cannot hope to produce good work, and I welcome the encouragement that this award offers to writers both local and international.



We are now in our 20th year of The Kenneth Branagh International Award for New Drama Writing

Our Award annually attracts hundreds of scripts for 30-minute one act plays; over 19 years we have received 3,854 scripts from 49 countries:  Slovakia, New Mexico, France, Belarus, England, Japan, Malaysia, Italy, Norway, Scotland, Nigeria, Belgium, India, New Zealand, Cyprus, Canada, Eire, USA, Finland, Germany, Wales, Australia, Switzerland, Austria, Spain, Ukraine, S. Africa, Portugal, N. Ireland, Israel, the Caribbean, Albania, Mexico, Korea, The Netherlands, Poland, Hungary, Russia, Sweden, Finland, Greece, Crete, Taiwan, Colombia, Pakistan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Slovenia, Indonesia, and from the islands of Anglesey, Jersey, Lewis, Man and Arran.


Many of our winners have gone on to success in the theatre, films and TV.

This award was the creation of Ann Trewartha. In 2003, after working on three Community Plays based on Windsor’s history, she wanted to help promote new writing talent so organised a Windsor Fringe event of three, 30-minute, one-act plays, finding directors and asking local writing groups to submit plays.  This was such a success that David Birrell (a committee member and manager of Richmond Theatre) suggested that the Fringe offer a prize to raise its profile. Other committee members supported the birth of the Award, originally sponsored by the Marriott Hotel for seven years and since 2010 has been generously sponsored and supported by Kenneth Branagh.

Throughout its 20 years, the award was coordinated by Ann Trewartha who had a passion for supporting new drama writing.  Aided by the Drama Committee, Ann ran the Award until she passed away in April ‘22 after a short illness.

bottom of page